Fujitsu P1510 touchscreen under Jaunty Jackalope

I have a 3-years old Fujitsu Lifebook P1510 that’s been running 7.10 with touchscreen enable flawlessly… Now it’s time to upgrade to 9.04. But the problem is the Xorg version is different.

Lucky I found the way to make it work again under Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope. Here are the steps that I did :

Step 1. Make a an executable file under bash shell script.

$ sudo gedit ~/ts.sh

Then copy & paste the following

#!/bin/bash

cd /tmp

sudo apt-get install -y setserial xserver-xorg-dev x11proto-core-dev x11proto-fonts-dev build-essential pkg-config libxrandr-dev

sudo setserial /dev/ttyS0 port 0x0220 irq 4 autoconfig

echo -e ‘/dev/ttyS0 irq 4 port 0x220 autoconfig’ | sudo tee /etc/serial.conf

wget http://www.conan.de/touchscreen/xf86-input-fujitouch-0.6.5.tar.bz2

tar -jxf xf86-input-fujitouch-0.6.5.tar.bz2

cd xf86-input-fujitouch-0.6.5

wget http://launchpadlibrarian.net/21635770/fujitouch.diff | patch -p0 < fujitouch.diff

./configure –prefix=/usr && make && sudo make install

exit 0

Save it

Step 2. Run the script

$ ~/ts.sh

Wait until it’s finished. There must be no errors.

Step 3. Edit the xorg.conf using your favourite text editor (vi, nano, gedit, etc)

$ sudo gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf

Then add the following text on the last line of xorg.conf

Section “InputDevice”
Identifier “touchscreen”
Driver “fujitsu”
Option “Device” “/dev/ttyS0”
Option “DeviceName” “touchscreen”
Option “MinX” “82”
Option “MinY” “146”
Option “MaxX” “4036”
Option “MaxY” “3999”
Option “SendCoreEvents” “On”
EndSection

Section “ServerLayout”
Identifier    “Default Layout”
Screen        “Default Screen”
InputDevice     “touchscreen” “CorePointer”
EndSection

Save it and you’ve done.

Restart your GDM (your notebook) and you’ll get the touchscreen come to life

Cheers,

nb. This howto might be work with the new Fujitsu P1610 as well but not with P1620.

10 Responses to “Fujitsu P1510 touchscreen under Jaunty Jackalope”

  1. Thanks for posting this !

  2. thanks for the post, but I get this error after the script get the fujitouch.diff

    configure: error: invalid variable name: –prefix

    what could be the problem?

  3. Hi, I’m trying to compile form the source but I really don’t undestand what is wrong I downloaded all the dependences I think, sorry I’m not very advanced, could you help me? This is the output of the make command, thanks you very much,

    make all-am
    make[1]: Entering directory `/home/beta/xf86-input-fujitouch-0.6.5′
    if /bin/bash ./libtool –tag=CC –mode=compile gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I. -I. -DXINPUT -g -O2 -I/usr/include/xorg -I/usr/include/pixman-1 -g -O2 -MT fujitsu_drv_la-fujitsu.lo -MD -MP -MF “.deps/fujitsu_drv_la-fujitsu.Tpo” -c -o fujitsu_drv_la-fujitsu.lo `test -f ‘fujitsu.c’ || echo ‘./’`fujitsu.c; \
    then mv -f “.deps/fujitsu_drv_la-fujitsu.Tpo” “.deps/fujitsu_drv_la-fujitsu.Plo”; else rm -f “.deps/fujitsu_drv_la-fujitsu.Tpo”; exit 1; fi
    mkdir .libs
    gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I. -I. -DXINPUT -g -O2 -I/usr/include/xorg -I/usr/include/pixman-1 -g -O2 -MT fujitsu_drv_la-fujitsu.lo -MD -MP -MF .deps/fujitsu_drv_la-fujitsu.Tpo -c fujitsu.c -fPIC -DPIC -o .libs/fujitsu_drv_la-fujitsu.o
    fujitsu.c:32:25: error: xf86Version.h: No such file or directory
    fujitsu.c:33:49: error: missing binary operator before token “(”
    fujitsu.c:71:25: error: xf86OSmouse.h: No such file or directory
    fujitsu.c:125: warning: ‘ModuleInfoRec’ is deprecated
    fujitsu.c:140: error: ‘XF86_VERSION_CURRENT’ undeclared here (not in a function)
    fujitsu.c: In function ‘Plug’:
    fujitsu.c:156: warning: ‘xf86AddModuleInfo’ is deprecated (declared at /usr/include/xorg/xf86.h:313)
    fujitsu.c: In function ‘DeviceInit’:
    fujitsu.c:334: warning: passing argument 3 of ‘InitValuatorClassDeviceStruct’ makes integer from pointer without a cast
    fujitsu.c:334: error: too many arguments to function ‘InitValuatorClassDeviceStruct’
    make[1]: *** [fujitsu_drv_la-fujitsu.lo] Error 1
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/beta/xf86-input-fujitouch-0.6.5′
    make: *** [all] Error 2

  4. Hi
    Thanks for this post.
    It was a great starting point for me.
    Finally I’ve got it done with the Perl script.
    I’ve also done some modifications on fjbtndrv.
    Now, it works better on Ubuntu the on Win XP😀.

    http://www.hom3.ch/unr_p1510/ (german)

    Kind regards, Tobias

  5. I’ve installed Kubuntu 9.10 netbook on the p1610 and I think this solution would work. 9.10 doesn’t have a xorg.conf file, but if you publish a complete file maybe it will work for me too. Right now I’m not sure what else to put in the file to make it complete. It boots but doesn’t startx with just the two sections, remove the file and it starts fine.

  6. Halim Setiawan Says:

    Hi…I’ve try to follow your instruction…but in this case, i have a different type of netbook. The type is Zyrex 1715 Wakatobi. I’ve install it with Ubuntu 9.10 Netbook Remix.. n the touchscreen still not work.. I still don’t understand about this line :

    sudo setserial /dev/ttyS0 port 0×0220 irq 4 autoconfig

    echo -e ‘/dev/ttyS0 irq 4 port 0×220 autoconfig’ | sudo tee /etc/serial.conf

    wget http://www.conan.de/touchscreen/xf86-input-fujitouch-0.6.5.tar.bz2

    tar -jxf xf86-input-fujitouch-0.6.5.tar.bz2

    cd xf86-input-fujitouch-0.6.5

    wget http://launchpadlibrarian.net/21635770/fujitouch.diff | patch -p0 < fujitouch.diff

    ./configure –prefix=/usr && make && sudo make install

    maybe someone can help me to explain this ?🙂
    thx..

    • You should examine your hardware first (lshw command).
      Even the same Fujitsu brand, is not guarantee to work.
      The script on fujitouch is very specific for some fujitsu touchscreen notebook.
      So far, I (and others) known only P1510 and P1610 to work
      Even the Fujitsu P1620 not sure to work.

      There should be a touchscreen driver if your netbook include Linux.
      As for the driver itself, probably can be used with other distros with slight modification.

      The line you mention above is to :
      1. set the interrupt on specific port address
      2. get the driver
      3. put the patch / modification
      4. install it on your system (notebook).

  7. Hi everyone,

    I’m getting troubles making the touchscreen work with Ubuntu 10.04 LTS.
    I have a limited knowledge of linux…anyway I understood that the latest version of ubuntu doesn’t use the xorg.conf file as before.
    When i reboot the laptop after executing the above procedure Ubuntu doesn’t like the config file (I have copied an older conf file from Ubuntu 8)…
    If i may ask….help!!!

    thx

Leave a Reply

